THE BLACK SORROWS ANOUNCE THE ‘LOVER I SURRENDER’ TOUR

16 August 19
Europe is falling for The Black Sorrows in the wake of Joe Camilleri’s 49th album, Citizen John, which debuted at #2 on the AIR Chart and #11 on the ARIA Album Chart in April.
 
The Black Sorrows’ European shows which initially consisted of ten shows in twelve days, from London to Copenhagen, have expanded to another thirteen dates in Germany come September this year. And when they return, Australian fans will have a new opportunity to witness a band at a new peak of performance as The Black Sorrows embark on their Lover I Surrender Tour for late 2019.
 
“Sometimes you hit a purple patch and you can do no wrong,” Joe says of the UK-Scandinavia leg of the tour, which found the Sorrows digging deep into the past as well as claiming new ground. “I know I’ve gotta do ‘Harley & Rose’. I’ve gotta do ‘Chained To The Wheel’. I’ve gotta do ‘Hit & Run’ or ‘Shape I’m In’ – and I do. I do those songs in a really heartfelt kind of way,” he says. “But some of the songs on Citizen John are really hitting home in the live environment. ‘Wednesday’s Child’, ‘Silvio’ and ‘Worlds Away’ are working really well and the band loves playing them. If the band loves playing them, you feel good about it and that shows.”
 
Another that’s found a life of its own on the road is ‘Lover I Surrender’, the new single from the album. “It’s a simple love song, a soul song,” says Joe. “Citizen John was a difficult record to make ‘cause some of the songs didn’t like each other. Most were kinda dark and every now and then you got a sweetheart. This is one of those.”
 
With more than 50 years of road behind him, the next gig is never something Joe takes lightly. From Fremantle to Melbourne to Townsville and dozens of shows in between, on their upcoming tour The Black Sorrows will showcase a live chemistry that’s never been more potent.
 
“It’s not very often the band text you to say what fun they had at a gig,” Joe says. “Normally it’s the opposite. You’re stuck together in the van for five hours and it’s “get me out of here”. We come to play. And that’s what I still look forward to. It doesn’t matter what happens during the day, it’s all about getting up there, doing what you like to do and hopefully people pick up on it and come on the journey with you.”
THE BLACK SORROWS
LOVER I SURRENDER TOUR
Tickets on sale now
 
Saturday 17 August
Lizottes | Newcastle, NSW
SOLD OUT!
 
Sunday 18 August
Lizottes | Newcastle, NSW
SOLD OUT!
 
Sunday 22 September – Thursday 10 October
European tour
Visit theblacksorrows.com.au for details
 
Thursday 17 October
Sooki Lounge | Belgrave, VIC
oztix.com.au
Tickets on sale 25 August
 
Friday 18 October
Memo Music Hall | St Kilda, VIC
trybooking.com
 
Saturday 19 October
The Echuca Wharf | Echuca, VIC
moshtix.com.au
 
Sunday 20 October
The Publican | Mornington, VIC
eventbrite.com.au
 
Thursday 24 October
Camelot Lounge | Marrickville, NSW
stickytickets.com.au
 
Friday 25 October
Manly Leagues Club | Manly, NSW
manlyleagues.com.au
 
Saturday 26 October
Gundaroo Music Festival | Gundaroo, NSW
ticketek.com.au
 
Friday 1 November
Caravan Music Club | Bentleigh East, VIC
trybooking.com
 
Saturday 2 November
One Electric Day
Country Club Tasmania | Launceston, TAS
ticketmaster.com.au
 
Sunday 3 November
Longley Internation Hotel | Longley, TAS
moshtix.com.au
 
Saturday 9 November
November Sun
Blue Pyrenees Estate | Avoca, VIC
eventbrite.com.au
 
Saturday 16 November
MTC Rocks The Racetrack | Wagga Wagga, NSW
ticketmaster.com.au
 
Friday 29 November
Grand Ridge Brewery | Mirboo North, VIC
eventbrite.com.au
 
Saturday 30 November
Bundy Hall | Bundalaguah, VIC
SOLD OUT!
 
Sunday 1 December
Bundy Hall | Bundalaguah, VIC
trybooking.com
 
Friday 6 December
Trinity Sessions | Clarence Park, SA
trybooking.com
 
Saturday 7 December
One Electric Day
Seppeltsfield Wines | Barossa Valley, SA
oneelectricday.com.au